Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Matt Cartwright

Representing the 17th District of Pennsylvania


Rep. Cartwright Joins Bipartisan Caucus to Advance Climate Solutions

Jul 13, 2017
Press Release

Washington, DC –Today, U.S. Representative Matt Cartwright (D-PA-17) announced that he joined the bipartisan Climate Solution Caucus. The Climate Solution Caucus aims to educate Members of Congress on economically-viable and bipartisan options to reduce climate risks and to address impacts of climate change. Caucus membership is evenly split between Democrats and Republicans.

“I’m glad to join the Climate Solutions Caucus to explore bipartisan solutions for combatting climate change,” said Rep. Cartwright. “Climate change is not just a threat to the environment and public health, but also a threat to our nation’s economy, infrastructure, national security, and agriculture. It’s our responsibility to safeguard natural resources and protect public health for generations to come. I’m looking forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to find innovative solutions to climate change.”

Members wishing to join the Caucus are required to pair with a Member from the other side of the aisle.  Rep. Cartwright joined with Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ-07).

“The economic and national security effects posed by climate change cannot be ignored or denied.  Economists of all stripes agree that extreme weather due to climate change costs taxpayers billions of dollars in damages. And Defense Secretary James Mattis said climate change is a threat to our national security that our military planners need to consider when designing military strategies.  Congress must address these fiscal and military challenges by adopting innovative and economically viable conservative principles,” Rep. Lance said.  “There is a great tradition of conservation within the Republican Party.  Presidents Lincoln, Roosevelt, Eisenhower, Nixon and Reagan all understood that conservation is conservative.  Republicans in Congress today should enact policies that embrace this great conservation legacy.”

Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL-22) and Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26) are co-chairs of the Climate Solutions Caucus.

“The effects of climate change don’t discriminate along party or state lines,” said Rep. Deutch. "Our newest Caucus members from districts across the Delaware River from each other prove this. From the Pocono Mountains to the suburbs of New York City, the American people demand action on climate change from their elected officials. Congressman Lance and Congressman Cartwright will bring more American voices to the caucus and strengthen our bipartisan call to action.”

“The Climate Solutions Caucus is a growing, geographically diverse and bipartisan coalition of Members of Congress ready to find real solutions to climate change issues and bring their own unique perspectives to the table,” Rep. Curbelo said. “We have a responsibility to our constituents and future generations to have productive discussions about market-based solutions, investments, and innovations that could mitigate the effects of climate change and make our nation more resilient. I’m thankful to Representatives Cartwright and Lance for joining our efforts, and I look forward to our work together.”‎

The full Caucus membership is below:

Republican Members
Carlos Curbelo (FL-26)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27)
Ryan Costello (PA-06)
Pat Meehan (PA-07)
Lee Zeldin (NY-01)
Mark Amodei (NV-02)
Mia Love (UT-04)
Elise Stefanik (NY-21)
Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-08)
Brian Mast (FL-18)
David Reichert (WA-08)
Don Bacon (NE-02)
Darrell Issa (CA-49)
Rodney Davis (IL-13)
John Faso (NY-19)
Peter King (NY-02)
Tom Reed (NY-23)
Mike Coffman (CO-06)
Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
Claudia Tenney (NY-22)
Scott Taylor (VA-02)
Barbara Comstock (VA-10)
David Joyce (OH-14)
Leonard Lance (NJ-07)
Democrat Members
Matt Cartwright (PA-17)
Ted Deutch (FL-22)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Brendan Boyle (PA-13)
John Delaney (MD-06)
Seth Moulton (MA-06)
Scott Peters (CA-52)
Peter Welch (VT-00)
Jim Himes (CT-04)
Susan Bonamici (OR-01)
Donald Beyer (VA-08)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Charlie Crist (FL-13)
Juan Vargas (CA-51)
Jerry McNerney (CA-09)
Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
Daniel Lipinski (IL-03)
Thomas Suozzi (NY-03)
Ann Kuster (NH-02)
Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
Mike Thompson (CA-05)
Jimmy Panetta (CA-20)
Stacey Plaskett (US VI)
Rick Nolan (MN-08)